lifestyle

Don’t Forget to Water Your Goals Today!

Don't Forget.jpgIn order to maintain a flourishing garden, it is required that you habitually water your plants. To ensure that your baby grows up to be strong and healthy, you have to feed and care for him/her. Your pet needs love and care as well to grow into an obedient loving animal. So why would it be any different for yourself and your goals?

People tend to forget that as individuals we need to be continuously nurtured, challenged, and invested in as well. In order for our goals to be achieved, we have to challenge ourselves with new tasks and aspirations in order to see results. Today, I read a quote which I believe totally sums up this need.

“Your level of success will seldom exceed your level of personal development, because success is something you attract by the person you become.” – Jim Rohn

Contrary to what we may believe, we will only get but so far without investing in our personal development. There aren’t any specific tasks which allow you to say “ Oh, I’m developed”. Actually, this is a life long journey.  Recognizing the need to progress is the first step. I think this is extremely relevant for those no longer in school. I myself have failed at keeping up with learning and absorbing knowledge since I’ve graduated from school. It is so easy to just feel the need to “relax” that you totally forget that you haven’t picked up a book in two months. Social media makes it even worst. I’ve realized that I can spend hours on Instagram and Facebook. Don’t get me wrong, there are some current events on social media. But if I was honest, I’d have to admit to doing more people watching on IG/FB than actually learning about the world.

Simple actions that allow you to learn more about yourself is more than enough. Pick up a book today. Watch a cooking class. Teach yourself how to speak another language. All of these and more are simple tasks that allow you to expand who you are as a person. People complain a lot about their lives being stagnant and boring. If you continue to repeat the same routine every day, what is going to spark any change? Don’t be afraid to go outside of your comfort zone and try something you’ve always wanted to do. I challenge all of you to do something today that helps you get closer to your goals and the person you want to become. I signed up for a newsletter from a fellow blogger on psychology of millennials and I’m going to sign up for a course on marketing skills for new businesses. You’d be surprised the wealth of information on the internet that is FREE!  No excuses my friend.

Good luck!

TeeTee

Leave a Reply

